Press Releases

Press Releases

Johnson & Johnson’s Talloen Named Manufacturing Leader of the Year

Marco Island, Fla. – The National Association of Manufacturers’ Manufacturing Leadership Council has named Bart Talloen, vice president, supply chain strategy, innovation and deployment at Johnson & Johnson as the 2023 Manufacturing Leader of the Year for his role in leading J&J’s digital transformation efforts throughout the company’s operations and supply chain. He is also influential through his involvement in many leading industry groups and through establishing broad external partnerships that have furthered their position as a leading global healthcare innovator.

“Manufacturing is a proven accelerator of innovation and economic prosperity, and the companies and individuals honored at tonight’s award ceremony are world-class leaders in shaping the manufacturing industry of tomorrow,” said David R. Brousell, founder, executive director and vice president at the Manufacturing Leadership Council. “I commend them for their tremendous achievements, for turning possibilities into realities and for their relentless pursuit of excellence in the face of persistent disruption.”

The award ceremony took place at Rethink: The Manufacturing Leadership Council Summit, which examines digital manufacturing as it intersects with technology, organizations and leadership at the JW Marriott Marco Island Beach Resort in Florida June 26–28.

In recognition of the highest scoring projects in each award category, the MLC also announced the following category winners:

AI and Machine Learning

Schneider Electric USA

Collaborative Ecosystems


Digital Network Connectivity


Digital Supply Chains


Engineering and Production Technology

Johnson Controls

Enterprise Integration Technology


Operational Excellence


Sustainability and the Circular Economy


Transformative Business Cultures

Cisco Systems

Manufacturing in 2030 Award

Anheuser-Busch InBev
AUO Corporation
The Boeing Company
General Motors

Digital Transformation Leadership

Melanie Kalmar, Dow

Next-Generation Leadership

Amanda Ahrens, Dow

Lifetime Achievement Award

Dr. Don A. Kinard, Lockheed Martin

MANUFACTURER OF THE YEAR – Small/Medium Enterprise




The 2024 Manufacturing Leadership Awards season will open to nominations on August 28, 2023. Information about the awards program is available here.


Founded in 2008 and now a division of the National Association of Manufacturers, the Manufacturing Leadership Council’s mission is to help manufacturing companies transition to the digital model of manufacturing by focusing on the technological, organizational and leadership dimensions of change. With more than 2,500 senior-level members from many of the world’s leading manufacturing companies, the MLC focuses on the intersection of advanced digital technologies and the business, identifying growth and improvement opportunities in the operation, organization and leadership of manufacturing enterprises as they pursue their journeys to Manufacturing 4.0.


The National Association of Manufacturers is the largest manufacturing association in the United States, representing small and large manufacturers in every industrial sector and in all 50 states. Manufacturing employs nearly 13 million men and women, contributes $2.90 trillion to the U.S. economy annually and accounts for 55% of private-sector research and development. The NAM is the powerful voice of the manufacturing community and the leading advocate for a policy agenda that helps manufacturers compete in the global economy and create jobs across the United States. For more information about the NAM or to follow us on Twitter and Facebook, please visit

View More